Tuesday, 1st September 2015

Town ready for the polls

Voters from the Market Drayton area go to the polls next week for what is being described as one of the most significant elections in Shropshire’s history.

Electors will choose 74 councillors on June 4 to represent them on the new Shropshire Council which came into effect on April 1.

Boundary changes in February mean that a number of areas will be served by just a single councillor, with two councillors representing most of Market Drayton itself.

A number of new divisions have also been introduced, including a Market Drayton East seat which includes Norton in Hales and Woore.

Childs Ercall, Hinstock and Sutton-upon-Tern have become part of a new Cheswardine seat and in one of the biggest changes, Adderley and Moreton Say are now included in the Prees divisions.

MARKET DRAYTON EAST (including Norton in Hales and Woore)

ROB BENTLEY (Labour):? A Market Drayton town councillor for 10 years and North Shropshire district councillor for two years, Rob’s term of office as mayor ended three weeks ago.

Married with two surviving children and seven grandchildren, Rob has lived in Market Drayton for 40 years and was a governor at Market Drayton Junior School for four years.

BRIAN GILLOW OBE (Conservative): First elected as a county councillor in 1981, Brian has been Shropshire Council’s chairman since 2005 and has represented the Market Drayton Rural division for the past four years.

Married with two children and four grandchildren, Brian has lived in the area for more than 50 years and was awarded an OBE last June for services to local government and the voluntary sector.


ROGER HUGHES (Conservative): Standing in his first county-wide election, Roger has been a Market Drayton town councillor for 15 years and is chairman of its development control committee.

Married with one son, Roger has worked in the agricultural food industry for 38 years and is a former governor at Longlands County Primary School in Market Drayton.

DAVID MINNERY (Conservative): First elected as a county councillor in 2005, David also spent 22 years as a North Shropshire district council and was council leader for the last three years of its life.

Married with three children, David has lived in Market Drayton for 55 years where he has been employed in a number of jobs.

PHIL REDDALL (British National Party): The BNP’s north Shropshire organiser since 2007 and a party member since 2005, Phil is an electoral candidate for the first time.

Formerly self-employed in a Shrewsbury newsagent and sub post office, Phil moved to Market Drayton with his family more than two years ago and currently works in the distribution industry.

VAL TAYLOR (Labour): A three-time mayor of Market Drayton, Val has been both a town and district councillor since 1991 where she has sat on a number of committees.

Married with two children and four grandchildren, she is a trustee of Longlands Pre-School Playgroup and a former governor of Market Drayton Junior School.

ROGER WALKER (Labour): Former leader of Shropshire County Council, Roger represented Market Drayton as a county councillor until losing his seat in the 2005 elections.

Born and educated in the town, Roger is married with two daughters and worked at Pork Farms Palethorpes for 24 years.

CHESWARDINE (including Childs Ercall, Hinstock and Sutton-upon-Tern)

ANDREW DAVIES (Conservative): Currently chairman of Sutton-upon-Tern Parish Council, Andrew has been a parish council member for one and a half years and was a district councillor for four years.

He has lived in Market Drayton for most of his life and spent eight years as a governor at the town’s Grove School.

MICK GOULD (Independent): A Market Drayton town councillor for two years, Mick was also a Hinstock district councillor for six years and a member of Cheswardine Parish Council.

He has lived in Market Drayton for more than 50 years and is married with three children.

BOB O’BRIEN (Labour): A Stoke-on-Tern parish councillor for two years, Bob currently lives on a farm in Sutton-upon-Tern.

He is a chartered engineer who also does work as a freelance consultant and is a part-time university lecturer.

HODNET (including Stoke-on-Tern)

KAREN CALDER (Conservative): A county councillor for areas including Hodnet and Stoke-on-Tern since 2005, Karen is currently chairman of Shropshire Council’s interim planning committee.

Married with three children, she has lived in the Hodnet area for 13 years and is a governor for the village’s primary school.

JANET SMITH (Labour): Market Drayton’s mayor between 1996 and 1997, Janet has been a town councillor since 1990 and recently stepped down as chairman of its finance and general purposes committee.

Married with two children and one granddaughter, Janet has lived in Market Drayton since 1974 where she plays an active role in a number of community organisations.

PREES (including Adderley and Moreton Say)

ROBERT IRVINE-LIST (UK Independence Party): After living near Market Drayton for 30 years, Robert moved to the village of Fauls four years ago where he plays an active role in the local community.

A self-employed businessman for more than 30 years, he has four children and interests include, gardening, skiing and tennis.

LES PHILLIPS (Independent): A North Shropshire district councillor for 16 years, Les was former chairman of its planning, finance and personnel committees.

He has been a partner in a construction firm for more than thirty years and has lived in Prees for 24 years.

JANET PROUDLOVE (Independent): Represented Adderley and Moreton Say as a district councillor for two years where she has been involved in various community activities.

Married with two children and four grandchildren, Janet lived in Adderley for four years but now lives and owns a business in Whitchurch

PAUL WYNN (Conservative): A North Shropshire district councillor for almost six years, Paul was a former member of its development control committee.

Born in Whitchurch and married with two children, he has been a dairy farmer for 36 years and his interests include bowls and rugby union.

By Winston Brown